jump to navigation

B&O Reflections April 28, 2009

Posted by Cardinal in Uncategorized.
trackback

I thought every team did an awesome job putting together and presenting their improvements.  The Tiffany’s one was a personal favorite, they (forgot their team name sorry!) were able to effectively deliver their ideas very clearly and I loved the humor.  As for our team (Zen), I felt that we were able to propose an improvement to a company (Bang & Olufsen) that is already doing a lot of things right.  Initially it was fairly tough to think of anything we could do, although that is probably attributed to the 45 minutes I spent in the demo room (heaven!) But everyone in the team made great suggestions and I felt that our final improvement idea was spot on for B&O.  Although I wish we had more time to deliver our thoughts to B&O and get feedback.

Comments»

1. sbergstedt - May 5, 2009

Agreed. I thoroughly enjoyed this project, and think that all of the groups generated some really great value-add ideas. After spending close to an hour in the store, demoing products, observing customer behavior, and talking to the sales rep at B&O we identified several (minor) problems which we were later able to address, prototype and pitch.

This project really forced me to change the way that I think. I am now more aware of my surroundings and try not to always accept things as they are. Now I can enter any store or situation, identify problems or inefficiencies, and come up with ideas for improvement.

2. msuntanu - May 7, 2009

This has been a great experience. Our first team-building project, and we produced results that we find somewhat tangible. I am glad we chose B&O, because even thought we didn’t particularly have more ideas about it than about other stores, we liked the products. It also forced us to be versatile in our creative processes–to be able to redesign any store.

I completely agree with Shannon’s status quo problem. I have been too comfortable accepting the ‘traditional’, then I socialize myself to follow the functions of the ‘traditional’. I wanna do this for the future. 🙂


Leave a Reply

